My NXNE & NXNEi 2011 Picks

The music portion of NXNE music festival kicks off next Wednesday with shows across the city. This will be my 5th year attending the festival and I’ve finally smartened up and booked Thursday and Friday off work so that I can see as many shows as possible and not suffer through my usual 6am wakeup the next morning.

Also very exciting is that in 10 short days my BFF/old roommate/former coworker/heterosexual-lifemate Elissa will be in town for a few days! We got hooked up with Priority Passes from the good folks at NXNE so we’ll be venue-hopping and band-groping from Thursday to Sunday together. You can follow what we’re up to on my Twitter and I’ll recap here when I have time.

One of my fave parts about NXNE last year was the huge (unofficial) role social media played throughout the festival.  While NXNE’s twitter account was very helpful last year, so was following the festival’s hashtags and people on my timeline to figure out what was going on at the venues they were at. You can find out who surprise performers are in time to get to the venue, or decide whether or not it’s worth leaving the venue you are currently at to head to another one. People were constantly updating about the length of lines at venues, whether shows were running on time (which is great if you’re debating waiting to see another band at the venue you are at before dashing out to the next one) or if shows were at capacity. I’m looking forward to see how NXNE embraces social media this year and hoping to use it to help me efficiently navigate (or drunkenly stumble) my way through this year’s festival.

I did a brief scan of the festival’s Schedulizer and picked out some conferences I’d like to check out, as well as selected some bands I’ve seen before and know I can’t miss this year. I still have so many bands to listen to and figure out who else I can fit in. This is my schedule so far:

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

       

9:30 A.M.

      The New Volunteers: Social Media and Emergencies or Influencing the Influencers

NOON

  Brand Loyalty 3.0 or The Black Hole of Facebook How to Grow Your User Base The Changing Experience of Music

       

2:15 P.M.

  Wheel Of Fortune/Misfortune: Conversations About Music & Stuff Profitable Social Media for Non-Profits Beyond MySpace: Musicians Connecting in New Ways

3:00 P.M.

      Gentlemen Husbands @ Y-D

3:30 P.M.

  Hootsuite – Building a Brand Music Marketing 2011 How to Create More, Better, Different

       

7:00 P.M.

    Junior Battles @ Phoenix  

8:00 P.M.

  Fucked Up @ Y-D   Mockingbird Wish Me Luck @ Opera House

9:00 P.M.

  Blackie Jackett Jr @ Y-D   Sheezer @ Sneaks

10:00 P.M.

    Stars @ Y-D or Jadea Kelly @ Dakota or Black Lungs @ Horseshoe Hot Water Music @ Opera House

11:00 P.M.

  Gavin Gardiner at 918 Bathurst C’Mon @ Horseshoe or Dum Dum Girls @ Lees Gentlemen Husbands @ Elmo

12:00 A.M.

Chuck Ragan & Dave Hause @ Elmo Parlovr @ Horseshoe Cunter @ Bovine or Fast Romantics @ Elmo Coppertone @ Elmo

1:00 A.M.

  Fucked Up @ Wrongbar Saint Alvia @ Elmo  

2:00 A.M.

       Sheezer @ Sneaks

Who are YOU going to see?

Seriously, tell me because I need your suggestions. Leave in the comments because my telepathy has been experiencing connection problems lately. Exceeded bandwidth or something.

I’ve also entered to win exclusive passes for me and 9 friends to the Exclaim! and Jägermeister Annual BBQ bash at the Cadillac Lounge on June 17th. Crossing my fingers and toes I win because that would be an awesome party to attend! I would post pictures of nachos and jager sno-cones all night to make you super jealous. Just kidding, I’d totally bring you with and we could dance to some Monster Truck and Young Rival together!

Posted on June 6, 2011, in music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hi Jamie-Leigh,

    Check out the new MyNXNE iPhone app from Shweet.com in association with Spinner.ca. It has events, artists, news, contests and more. Plus you can easily add shows to your calendar!

    Get it. Try it. Love it.

    http://shweet.tumblr.com/post/6329971516/mynxne-2011-for-iphone

  2. I was searching for other people’s NXNE schedules, because I don’t know most of the bands and need to find some new music, and your blog came up right after the official NXNE pages and NOW. Nice work Jamie!
    I may follow you around a bit. I need some awesome new bands I’ve never heard of before.
    See you there!

    Sheldon

    • Thanks for the comment Sheldon! Glad I’ve made it so easy for people to stalk me this week 😉 Now let’s hope my list is as good as it was easy to find!

      Most of the bands on my list I’ve seen before but I’m hoping that by visiting a bunch of different venues and watching Twitter I’ll be able to find some new bands. Im sure I’ll see you around 🙂

      Will you be going to any of the conferences as well?

      • I’ll be there from Wednesday on. I’m doing the workshop day as well on Wednesday and then conferencing all day Thursday-Saturday, so you’ll definitely see me.

  3. Thanks to my father who told me regarding this blog, this weblog is genuinely remarkable.

Leave a Reply

